Sunday, 1 December 2013

Turner Prize 2013

The Turner Prize 2013 Awards Ceremony will be held tomorrow night at Ebrington. The show will be broadcast live on Channel 4 at 7.30pm and hosted by the delightful Lauren Laverne.

The four contenders for this years award are Laure Prouvost, David Shrigley, Tino Sehgal and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye. Their exhibits continue to be on display until early January 2014.
The Turner Prize is named after the painter JMW Turner and is an annual award presented to a British visual artist under the age of 50. It is organised by the Tate gallery and is normally staged there. This year has been the first occasion that it has moved out of London. Derry has made this years award historic. Since its origins in 1984 the Turner Prize has become the United Kingdom's most publicised art award.

Post a Comment